top of page
  • Writer's pictureEric Senich

THUMBS UP/THUMBS DOWN: Roger Waters' New Version Of 'Comfortably Numb' [VIDEO]

Roger Waters has released a brand-new version of the Pink Floyd classic "Comfortably Numb".

The track, originally on Pink Floyd's 1980 album The Wall, was re-recorded by Waters as an opener for his current This is Not A Drill tour. Waters removes the guitar solo and layers the track with synthesizers, soundclips of news reports and additional vocals. It features Gus Seyffert (bass, synth, percussion, vocals), Joey Waronker (drums), Dave Kilminster (vocals), Jonathan Wilson (harmonium, synth, guitar and vocals), Jon Carin (synth, vocals), Shanay Johnson (vocals), Amanda Belair (vocals) Robert Walter (organ/piano) and Nigel Godrich (strings, amp and backing vocal) alongside Waters.

"During Lockdown I made a demo of a new version of 'Comfortably Numb' as an opener for our new show This Is Not A Drill," Waters told Louder. "I pitched it a whole step down, in A Minor, to make it darker and arranged it with no solos, except over the outro chord sequence, where there is a heartrendingly beautiful female vocal solo from Shanay Johnson, one of our new singers."

I've listened to it, I've seen the video. Don't want to sway your opinion so I will just leave it to you to decide. Give the video above a view and vote thumbs up or thumbs down. Comments are always welcome too!

30 views0 comments


Оценка: 0 из 5 звезд.
Еще нет оценок

Добавить рейтинг
bottom of page